1940’s Replica Radio Electronics – Honeywood House
The case is a typical example of a radio from the 1940’s era with its wooden shell and distinct design showcasing the speaker – a perfect addition to the World War Two room.
Honeywood House, situated on the banks of the picturesque Charshalton Ponds in South West London is to open its doors once more and welcome back visitors to what is considered one of the most treasured heritage attractions in the Sutton area.
Originally built in the 17th Century, Honeywood House has had its fair share of additions most notably in 1896 and 1903 when the house was owned by London merchant John Pattinson Kirk. In need of restoration the museum closed in 2011 after successfully gaining a grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund to begin work on making the museum even more of a focal point in the London Borough.
With restoration almost complete the new exhibition rooms are really taking shape. Located in the north corridor of the 17th Century part of the building the rooms include a scullery, an Edwardian children’s room and finally a room dedicated to World War Two.
Here at blackbox-av we were very pleased to provide the 1940’s Replica Radio Electronics enabling visitors to interact with the device via the circular tuning switch. By twisting the switch audio clips are triggered making for an interactive and informative experience. The case is a typical example of a radio from the 1940’s era with its wooden shell and distinct design showcasing the speaker – a perfect addition to the World War Two room.
Honeywood Museum is open to visitors from the 30th May 2012, drop by and view the 1940’s Replica Radio Electronics in action!
Related / Recent Projects